Beer Cocktails

I confess that I am rather skeptical when it comes to  beer based drinks.  Beer, be it a simple pilsner or a complex barrel aged stout, is best appreciated on its own.   Yet they seem to be growing in popularity.  From classic concoctions like the michelada to dreck like Bud Light’s Limearita and its ilk, there are many different cocktails out there that rely on beer for their flavor.  To date I have yet to find one I really liked, until this summer that is.

***********

 That’s when I finally decided to try this recipe from Draft Magazine.  I find this magazine one of the best out there about beer since it includes more than just the usual assortment of brewer and style profiles, it also devotes many pages to food and recipes.  And so it was, not without some reluctance, that I decided to give this one a try.

***********

I used a good resposado tequila and the same Cuvee Rene gueuze shown in the picture which I chose strictly because of the price point.  I sure didn’t want to use an expensive bottle only to find that I had wasted it on a dud recipe.  Given that there were only 4 ingredients it came together rather quickly.  One word of advice- don’t fill the shaker to the brim- the gueuze will foam up when you shake it!

***********

The result was not just decent- it was excellent.  While it could never be mistaken from a traditional margarita the balance of flavors was wonderful.  Sour but just sweet enough it went down dangerously easy.

***********

I liked it so much I have made it twice more using different gueuzes with equally good results.  In fact, I like it so much I plan to try my own variations using gose and Berliner Weisse beers instead of the gueuze.  The light sour, and in the case of the gose, the salt too, should stand in nicely.

***********

The recipe and photos below come directly from the March/April 2014 issue.

How to: Make the ultimate beergarita

It doesn’t look like a bright yellow marg, but the flavors are dead-on, and the bubbles are a refreshing bonus! Here’s how to mix up a proper beer margarita:

beergarita-copy

YOU’LL NEED:

2 ounces gueuze

1 ounce tequila

1 teaspoon agave nectar

squeeze of lime

A gueuze stands in for tart Triple Sec, and a little agave soothes the sour. Shake it up, salt your glass, pour over ice and serve.

To see the original article click here.

 ***********

If you try it let us know how you like it!

2 thoughts on “Beer Cocktails

  1. I love you, Kirk. And I’m glad I can avoid this on the grounds of simply not liking tequila (tried it, many times; just don’t get it). Because the only beer cocktail I like…is a Boilermaker.

  2. You should try the Passion fruit “mojito” and Liquid Pie that I serve at Barren Hill – There are some really good recipes out there

Leave a Reply

